Manimal (1983)

USA, 30 September -17 December 1983
1 series, 8 episodes, average 50m
35mm film, colour, 4:3
mono, English

An American fantasy television series created by Glen A. Larson and Donald R. Boyle.


New York based British professor Jonathan Chase can transform into any animal at will. Teaming up with a policewoman and a Vietnam war veteran, he uses this ability to fight crime.


Manimal (30 September 1983)
Illusion (14 October 1983)
Night of the Scorpion (21 October 1983)
Female of the Species (28 October 1983)
High Stakes (5 November 1983)
Scrimshaw (3 December 1983)
Breath of the Dragon (10 December 1983)
Night of the Beast (17 December 1983)

Extracts included in
NBC 75th Anniversary Special (2002)



  • The Encyclopedia of Superheroes on Film and Television by John Kenneth Muir pp.367-372
  • Horror and Science Fiction Films IV by Donald C. Willis p.311
  • Sci-fi Chronicles by Guy Haley (ed.) p.291
  • The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Fantasy by David Pringle (general ed.) p.124 – credits, review