The Changes (1975)

UK, 6 January -10 March 1975
1 series, 10 episodes, average 25m
videotape, 16mm film, colour, 4:3
mono, English

A British science fiction television series based on the series of novels by Peter Dickinson.


In Britain a strange noise drives the populace to rebel against all forms of machinery and . In the aftermath teenager Nicky Gore is separated from her parents and sets out to find them in a world that has reverted to a pre-industrial way of life.


Regular Crew
Directed by: John Prowse
Produced by: Anna Home
Written by: Anna Home
Based on the Novels by: Peter Dickinson

Regular Cast
Vicky Williams (Nicky)
Keith Ashton (Jonathan)
Rafiq Anwar (Chacha)
Bartlett Mullins (old man)
Sahab Qizilbash (grandmother)


The Noise (6 January 1975)
The Bad Wires (13 January 1975)
The Devil's Children (20 January 1975)
Hostages! (27 January 1975)
Witchcraft! (3 February 1975)
A Pile of Stones (10 February 1975)
Heartsease (17 February 1975)
Lightning! (24 February 1975)
The Quarry (3 March 1975)
The Cavern (10 March 1975)

Includes extracts from
Quatermass and the Pit (1967)



  • The Hill and Beyond: Children's Television Drama – an Encyclopedia by Alistair D. McGown & Mark J. Docherty pp.87-89
  • The Routledge Companion to Folk Horror by Robert Edgar and Wayne Johnson (eds.) pp.211-212, 227, 231-232
  • Serials on British Television 1950-1994 by Ellen Baskin p.131 – credits, synopsis