The Unearthly (1957)

USA, 1957
35mm film, black and white
mono (Westrex Recording System), English

An American science fiction film directed by Boris Petroff using the pseudonym Brooke L. Peters.

Plot Summary

Searching for the secret of eternal youth, Professor Charles Conway discovers the hitherto unknown “seventeenth gland”. But things aren’t going to plan – he’s already murdered many victims in his quest and all he has to show for it is a small army of zombies. And now his patients are beginning to wise up to what he’s doing…


Directed by: Brooke L. Peters A pseudonym for Boris Petroff.[/mfn]
Copyright MCMLVII [1957] by AB-PT Pictures Corporation
Produced by: Brooke L. Peters
Associate Producer: Robert A. Terry
Screenplay by: Geoffrey Dennis [real name: John D.F. Black.[/mfn] and Jane Mann
Original Story by: Jane Mann
Characters: Edward D. Wood Jr [uncredited]
Director of Cinematography: W. Merle Connell
Editorial Supervision: Richard Currier
Music Composed and Conducted by: Henry Vars
Sound: Philip Mitchell
Wardrobe Supervisor: William Zacha
Make-up Supervision: Harry Thomas
Art Director: Daniel Hall

John Carradine [Dr Charles Conway]
Myron Healy [Lt Mark Houston]
Allison Hayes [Grace Thomas]
Marylyn Buferd [Dr Sharon Gilchrist]
Arthur Batanides [Danny Green]
Sally Todd [Natalie Anders]
Tor Johnson [Lobo]
Roy Gordon [Dr Loren Wright]
Guy Prescott [Captain Reagan]
Raymond Guta
Harry Fleer [Harry Jedrow]
Gloria Petroff [screaming woman]
Paul McWilliams [police officer]
Karl Johnson [monster in basement] *

Alternative Titles

La casa dei mostri – Italian title
House of the Monsters – working title
Kauhutohtori – Finnish title
Nido de monstruos – Venezuelan title
Night of the Monsters – working title

See also
Bride of the Monster (1955)


Chiller Theatre no.11 (1999) pp.16-20 – interview with John D. F. Black (Unearthly Writer by Tom Weaver)

John Carradine: The Films by Tom Weaver – article
Reference Guide to Fantastic Films by Walt Lee p.512 – credits
Science Fiction Confidential pp.15-23 – interview with John D.F. Black (by Tom Weaver)