The 70th Annual Academy Awards (1998)

USA, 23 March
video, colour
stereo, English

An American television broadcast with some genre interest directed by Louis J. Horvitz.


Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Dakota Films
Producer: Gilbert Cates
Cowboy Heaven and Memorial Sequence Producer: Scott McIsaac
Opening Film Producer: Troy Miller
Script: Rita Cash, Billy Grundfest, Hal Kanter, Buz Kohan
Special Material: Dave Boone, Billy Crystal, Ed Driscoll, Jon Macks, Marc Shaiman, David Steinberg, Bruce Vilanch
Opening Film Director: Troy Miller
Lighting Directors: Bob Barnhart, Bob Dickinson, Matt Ford, Andy O'Reilly
Editor: Matthew Sharp
Musical Director: Bill Conti
Oscar Fanfare: Jerry Goldsmith
Hair: Lori McCoy-Bell [uncredited]
Production Designers: Dan Butts, Roy Christopher
Locations: Shrine Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA

Billy Crystal (host)
Alec Baldwin
Antonio Banderas
James Cameron
Matt Damon
Cameron Diaz
Stanley Donen (Honorary Oscar presentation)
Minnie Driver
Daniel Ezralow (dance performer)
Peter Fonda
Melanie Griffith
Katharine Hepburn (in archive footage)
William Hickey
Helen Hunt
Samuel L. Jackson
Richard Jaeckel
Ashley Judd
Jennifer Lopez
Madonna (presenter of Best Original Song award)
Roddy McDowall
ToshirĂ´ Mifune
Burt Reynolds
Elisabeth Shue (presenter)
Sharon Stone
Gloria Stuart
Sigourney Weaver (presenter)
Kate Winslet
Fay Wray
Trisha Yearwood
Fred Astaire (in archive footage)
Arnold Schwarzenegger (presenter)


Television coverage of the 70th Annual .

Includes extracts from
The 44th Annual Academy Awards (1972)
The 56th Annual Academy Awards (1984)