Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1990)

UK, 10-24 January
1 series, 3 episodes, average
colour, 4:3
mono, English

A British drama television series with fantasy sequences based on the novel by Jeanette Winterson and directed by Beeban Kidron.


A teenage girl, raised by her religious zealot parents, discovers that she is a lesbian and has to come to terms with the fact that her sexuality is going to drive a wedge even further between her and her parents.


10 January 1990
17 January 1990
24 January 1990

Alternative Titles

Orangen sind nicht die einzige Frucht – German title


Serials on British Television 1950-1994 by Ellen Baskin p.249