Doctor Who: Daleks in Manhattan (2007)

UK, Canada, 21 April 2007
digital video, colour, 16:9
stereo, English
Previous Episode: Gridlock (2007)
Next Episode: Evolution of the Daleks (2007)
Series: Doctor Who (2005-) – series 3, episode 4

A British science fiction television episode directed by James Strong from a script by Helen Raynor. The script was originally meant to have been written by Steven Moffatt who had to pull out at the last minute (he eventually wrote Blink (2007) instead) and was replaced by script editor Helen Raynor who became the first woman to write for the new series.

Plot Summary

The Doctor and Martha arrive in Depression era New York to find pig-men running wild in the sewers and the Cult of Skaro, having escaped the events of Doomsday, setting up based in the still under construction Empire State Building.


Director: James Strong
© BBC MMVII [2007]
BBC Wales in association with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Executive Producers: Russell T Davies, Julie Gardner
Producer: Phil Collinson
Production Executive: Julie Scott
Production Manager: Patrick Schweitzer
Production Co-ordinator: Jess van Niekerk
[Written] By: Helen Raynor
Daleks Created by: Terry Nation
Script Editor: Lindsey Alford
1st Assistant Director: Peter Bennett
2nd Assistant Director: Steffan Morris
3rd Assistant Director: Sarah Davies
Continuity: Non Eleri Hughes
Director of Photography: Ernie Vincze
Camera Operator: Roger Pearce
Focus Puller: Steve Rees
Gaffer: Mark Hutchings
Best Boy: Peter Chester
Electricians: Clive Johnson, Ben Griffiths
Grip: John Robinson
Editor: Mike Jones
VFX Editor: Ceres Doyle
Assistant Editor: Tim Hodges
Post Production Supervisors: Samantha Hall, Chris Blatchford
Post Production Co-ordinator: Marie Brown
On Line Editor: Matthew Clarke
Colourist: Mick Vincent
Music: Murray Gold
Original Theme Music: Ron Grainer
Sound Recordist: Ron Bailey
Boom Operators: Jon Thomas, Bryn Thomas
Dubbing Mixer: Tim Ricketts
Supervising Sound Editor: Paul McFadden
Sound Editor: Doug Sinclair
Sound FX Editor: Paul Jefferies
Foley Editor: Kelly-Marie Angell
Costume Designer: Louise Page
Assistant Costume Designer: Marnie Ormiston
Costume Supervisor: Lindsay Bonaccorsi
Costume Assistants: Sheenagh O’Marah, Kirsty Wilkinson
Make-Up Designer: Barbara Southcott
Make-Up Artists: Pam Mullins, Steve Smith, John Munro
Prosthetics: Millennium FX Prosthetics Designer: Neill Gorton
Prosthetics Supervisor: Rob Mayor
Special Effects: Any Effects
Special Effects Co-ordinator: Ben Ashmore
Special Effects Supervisor: Paul Kelly
Visual Effects: The Mill
Visual FX Producers: Will Cohen, Marie Jones
Visual FX Supervisor: Dave Houghton
On Set VFX Supervisor: Barney Curnow
Visual Effects Co-ordinators: Jenna Powell, Rebecca Johnson
3D Artists: Adam Burnett, Jean Yves Audouard
2D Artists: Sara Bennett, Tim Barter, Adam Rowland, Joseph Courtis, [Greg Spencer, Bryan Bartlett, Russell Horth
Digital Matte Painters: Simon Wicker, Charlie Bennett, Alex Fort
Production Designer: Edward Thomas
Associate Designer: James North
Chief Supervising Art Director: Stephen Nicholas
Supervising Art Director: Arwel Wyn Jones
Standby Art Director: Lee Gammon
Design Assistants: Peter McKinstry, Rob Dicks
Cyfle Trainee: Kate Meyrick
Set Decorator: Julian Luxton
Art Department Production Manager: Jonathan Marquand Allison
Art Department Co-ordinator: Matthew North
Props Buyer: Ben Morris
Chief Props Master: Adrian Anscombe
Property Master: Phil Lyons
Standby Props: Phil Shellard, Nick Murray
Senior Props Maker: Barry Jones
Props Makers: Penny Howarth, Mark Cordory, Nick Robatto
Graphics: BBC Wales Graphics
Construction Manager: Matthew Hywel-Davies
Construction Chargehand: Allen Jones
Standby Carpenter: Paul Jones
Standby Painter: Ellen Woods
Standby Rigger: Bryan Griffiths
Finance Manager: Chris Rogers
Production Accountant: Endaf Emyr Williams
Production Secretary: Kevin Myers
Production Assistant: Debi Griffiths
Floor Runners: Lowri Denman, Barry Philips
Drivers: Wayne Humphreys, Malcolm Kearney
Contracts Assistant: Kath Blackman
Choreographer: Ailsa Berk
Location Manager: Gareth Skelding
Unit Manager: Huw Jones
With thanks to the BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Stunt Co-ordinator: Tom Lucy
Casting Director: Andy Pryor
Casting Associate: Andy Brierley

David Tennant (The Doctor)
Freema Agyeman (Martha Jones)
Miranda Raison (Tallulah)
Ryan Carnes (Laszlo)
Hugh Quarshie (Solomon)
Andrew Garfield (Frank)
Eric Loren (Mr Diagoras)
Flik Swann (Myrna)
Alexis Caley (Lois)
Earl Perkins (man #1)
Peter Brooke (man #2)
Ian Porter (foreman)
Joe Montana (worker #1)
Stewart Alexander (worker #2)
Mel Taylor (dock worker)
Barnaby Edwards, Nicholas Pegg, Anthony Spargo, David Hankinson (Dalek operators)
Nicholas Briggs (Dalek voices)
Paul Kasey (hero pig)