Bloody New Year (1986)

35mm film, Fujicolor
mono, English

A British science fiction/horror film directed by Norman J. Warren.

Plot Summary

On an isolated island off the Welsh coast at the end of the 1950s, an experimental radar device was tested with disastrous results. Since then, the island and its mutant inhabitants have been locked in a time warp. A group of teenage tourists arrive on the island and encounter a variety of creatures and other supernatural menaces.


Director: Norman J. Warren
Lazer Entertainments, Cinema and Theatre Seating Co
Executive Producer: Maxine Julius
Producer: Hayden Pearce
Script: Frazer Pearce, Hayden Pearce, Norman J. Warren
Director of Photography: John Shann
Editor: Carl Thompson
Incidental Music: Nick Magnus
Sound Recordist: Doug Turner
Costume Designer: Katie Pegg
Make-up Designer: Jane Bevan
Special Effects Supervisor: David Williams
Production Designer: Hayden Pearce
Locations: Barry Island, Wales, UK

Suzy Aitchison (Lesley)
Nikki Brooks (Janet)
Colin Heywood (Spud)
Mark Powley (Rick)
Catherine Roman (Carol)
Julian Ronnie (Tom)
Steve Emerson (Dad)
Steve Wilsher (Ace)
John Glentoran (the bear)
Val Graham (housewife)
David Lyn (interviewer)
Rory H. Maclean (1st expert)
Nick Dowsett (2nd expert)
Steve Edison (film invader)
Roy Hill (Flying Cadillacs)
Chas Cronk, Tony Fernandez (Cry No More)
Jenny Baylis (Madame Zelda)
Ian May (pilot)
Paul Barrett (table monster)
Victoria Smith (snowball girl)

Alternative Titles

Krwawego nowego roku – Polish title
Time Warp Terror – US title

See also
A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
The Shining (1980)

Includes extracts from
Fiend Without a Face (1958)


Fangoria no.69 (1989) pp.14-17 – illustrated interview with Norman J. Warren
Variety 27 May 1987 p.41 – credits, review